Why I’ve decided to see the movie Noah

Some months ago while Skyping with friends that live  too far away to visit easily, I was told about the film Gravity.  I decided it was one I had to see on the big screen.  It’s perfectly fine for a movie buff like myself to wait for certain titles to be released on DVD, but some films, and most especially Gravity in 3-D, are worth the price to see at the theater.  That was my reasoning, and I wasn’t disappointed.  It’s one of the most tensely enjoyable and impressive films I’ve ever seen, not only for the storyline, but also for the special effects.

It was also several months ago that I first heard of the film Noah, and saw the official trailer.  I immediately decided to see it at the theater when it was released.  As I mentioned above, some things just won’t wait for the home version when you know they will be so much more impressive at the cinema.  Then, little by little, the controversy started rearing its head.  Noah was denounced by many Christian organizations as being unbiblical, having an environmentalist agenda, and I’ve even heard it referred to as blasphemous.  In other words, it takes entirely too much liberty with the Biblical version of  the real Noah and the Flood to the point where the film is not only  not worth seeing, but you sort of get the impression that it would be sinful if you actually did.

Ken Ham, of Answers in Genesis, has publicly denounced the film.  So has Ray Comfort, of Living Waters Publications.  While I admit I’m not familiar with Comfort or Living Waters, I have nothing but admiration for Ham and Answers in Genesis.  In addition, a blog I follow has also denounced the film, and he actively urged his readers not to see it.  In fact, he gave a complete review of the film which included more or less everything that happened in the movie – spoilers and all, so you wouldn’t have to waste your money seeing it for yourself.  I read all this, sure, but I’m still going to go see Noah.

Why?  Two reasons – mainly because I’ve planned to and I want to.  As I said before, I like special effects, especially on the big screen, and the chance to see the Flood depicted in such a way has an irresistible pull.  I also like the Bible, and will more likely than not go to see any film adaptation of a story based on it.  After all, The Ten Commandments with Charlton Heston is still one of my favorite films – not only for the story of Moses and the exodus from Egypt, but you’ve got to admit, for 1956, even with the methods and technology at the time, they did an impressive job with the parting of the Red Sea.  It still thrills me to watch it even now.

The second reason is because I like to make up my own mind about what I view, and formulate my own conclusions after I’ve seen the film.  Although Darren Aronofsky is reputedly an atheist, from some reviews I’ve read about Noah, he’s made a winner that’s likely to be a box office blockbuster.

While I appreciate the concern Ken, Ray, and the blogger have with the movie’s lack of Biblical accuracy (and I will probably hold the same views), some of us don’t want to have our decisions made for us.  We, as Christians, are capable of thinking and deciding for ourselves the good from the bad and the worthwhile from the worthless.  Therefore, I would urge anyone who wants to see the film Noah to see it.  If you do, you’ll be able to say for sure what was good or bad about it rather than dismiss it out of hand because someone you respected told you it wasn’t worth seeing.

Remember, Ken Ham knew from previous reports that the movie didn’t follow the Biblical storyline, yet he went to see it anyway.  Why would he do this?  Especially since long before he viewed the film, he’s been urging his readers and supporters not to see it.  What it really boils down to is, let’s all make up our own minds whether we will or whether we won’t.  After all, if it’s worth discussing in church, Sunday School, or at a Christian men’s or women’s breakfast, isn’t it worth knowing what you’re talking about?

 

Leave a comment...

